Ben Jones of The Tuscaloosa News won first place in The Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest in Multimedia in the C Division.

Taylor Eldridge of The Wichita Eagle finished second and Brandon Marcello of Auburn Undercover took third.

Sports editors in the C Division submitted 19 multimedia entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries. 

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in St. Petersburg, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top five, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 5 on a separate ballot. Entries were given five points for a first-place vote, four points for second and so on down to one point for a fifth-place vote. The final five were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-5 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

Jones will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 27. The second- through fifth-place finishers will receive certificates.

Multimedia includes interactive graphics, audio, slideshows or combinations thereof, or anything else that falls under the broad description of multimedia other than simple videos. Entries were judged, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality were considered.

The top 5 is listed below with links to the winning entries.

1. Ben Jones, The Tuscaloosa News, 26 points, three first-place votes
2. Taylor Eldridge, The Wichita Eagle, 21 points, one first-place vote
3. Brandon Marcello, Auburn Undercover, 19 points, two first-place votes
4. Ethan Joyce and John O’Neal, Winston-Salem Journal, 14 points
5. Staff, The Fayetteville (N.C.) Observer, 10 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here