By Gerry Ahern
APSE First Vice President
Are you ready?
The final mandatory dates for daily and Sunday sections for the 2011 Associated Press Sports Editors contest have been selected. Detroit Free Press Editor and Publisher Paul Anger did the honors. Anger, who served as APSE president from 1994-95, chose Friday Nov. 4 and Sunday, Oct. 9.
The first two mandatories, selected at the Boston conference in June, are Monday, May 23 and Sunday, April 3.
For the daily and Sunday sections you must enter the two mandatories and two optional dates of your choosing.
Below is everything else you need to know to enter …
Entries must be postmarked by midnight Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2012. If you are using an express mail service, entries must be in the hands of the catchers by Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2012.
Please take some time to read over the complete contest rules and prepare your entries properly. All the details can be found at:
I urge each editor to check the entries personally before shipping them off to the catchers.
Please be sure to send your entries to the proper catchers at the addresses below:
Daily sections (0ver 175,000; 75,001-175,000)
Tim Stephens
Orlando Sentinel
633 N. Orange Ave.
Orlando, FL
Daily sections (30,000- 75,000; Under 30,000)
Todd M. Adams
Orlando Sentinel
633 N. Orange Ave.
Orlando, FL
Sunday sections (Over 175,000; 75,001-175,00)
Dave Georgette
Orlando Sentinel
633 N. Orange Ave.
Orlando, FL
Sunday sections (30,000-75,000; Under 30,000)
Doug Jacobs
Tampa Tribune
200 S. Parker St.
Tampa, FL
Special sections (all divisions)
Patrick Obley
Charlotte Sun
23170 Harborview Road
Charlotte Harbor, FL
Multimedia (all divisions)
Todd M. Adams
Orlando Sentinel
633 N. Orange Ave.
Orlando, FL
Investigative (all divisions)
Jorge Rojas
Miami Herald
1 Herald Plaza
Miami, FL
Projects (all divisions)
Alex Mena
Miami Herald
1 Herald Plaza
Miami, FL
Columns (all divisions)
Jorge Rojas
Miami Herald
1 Herald Plaza
Miami, FL
Features (all divisions)
Jack Sheppard
St. Petersburg Times
490 1st Ave. S.
St. Petersburg, FL
Breaking news (all divisions)
Patrick Obley
Charlotte Sun
23170 Harborview Road
Charlotte Harbor, FL
Explanatory (all divisions)
Andy Kuppers
Lakeland Ledger
300 W. Lime St.
Lakeland, FL
Beat writing (all divisions)
Mike Parsons
Florida Today
1 Gannett Plaza
Melbourne, FL
Contest judging takes place Feb. 18-22 at the World Gate Hotel in Kissimmee, Fla. Room rate is $99 per night. Call (407) 396-1400 for reservations and mention you are with APSE. Deadline is Jan. 25.
Here is the list of judges who have committed to attend. Please check to see if your paper is properly represented. More judges are needed. Contact Ahern ASAP if you are interested.
Todd Adams, Orlando Sentinel
Adena Andrews, ESPNW
John Bednarowski, Marietta Daily Journal
Lenny Bernstein, Washington Post
Chris Boghossian, Chicago Tribune
John Boyle, Dayton Daily News
Ben Brigandi, Williamsport Sun-Gazette
Mary Byrne, Associated Press
Keith Campbell, Dallas Morning News
Jim Carlson, Harrisburg Patriot News
John Cherwa, Los Angeles Times
Frank Corsoe, Toledo Blade 
Stu Courtney, Chicago Tribune
Carrie Cousins, Roanoke Times
Glen Crevier, Minneapolis Star Tribune
Tommy Deas, Tuscaloosa News 
Chris DeLuca, Chicago Sun Times
Donna Eyring OR Jerry Micco, Pittsburgh Post Gazette
Mark Faller, Arizona Republic
Dennis Freeman, Beverly Hills Times 
Ron Fritz, Baltimore Sun
Robert Gagliardi, Wyoming Tribune Eagle
Melissa Geisler, Yahoo! Sports
Jordan Godwin, Galveston County Daily News
Larry Graham, ESPN
Ed Guzman, Washington Post
Rodney Haas, Kingman Daily Miner
Joe Harrington, Kerrville Daily Times
Roy Hewitt, Cleveland Plain Dealer
Monica Holland, Fayetteville Observer
Garry D. Howard, Sporting News
Mike Huguenin, Yahoo! Sports
Chris Imperiale, Scranton Times-Tribune
Phil Kaplan, Knoxville News Sentinel
Paul Kasko, Sporting News
Scott Kendrick, Jacksonville Times-Union
Jeff Kuehn, Oakland Press
Andy Kuppers, Lakeland Ledger
Marc Lancaster, Washington Times
Kathy Laughlin, Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel
Reid Laymance, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Brad Lehman, Houston Chronicle
Courtney Linehan, Times of Munster
Ruben Luna, Detroit News
Jim Luttrell, New York Times
Jeff Maillet, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Scott Monserud, Denver Post
Mike Moran, Daily Hampshire Gazette 
Gene Myers, Detroit Free Press
Patrick Obley, Charlotte Sun
Eric Olson, Northwest Herald
Tom O'Toole, USA TODAY
Mike Parsons, Florida Today
Andi Petrini, Newport News Daily Press
Tom Quinlan, Arlington Heights Daily Herald
John Quinn, Philadelphia Inquirer
Jeff Rosen, Kansas City Star
Don Shelton, Seattle Times
Mike Sherman, The Oklahoman
Paul Skrbina, Chicago Tribune
Dan Spears, Wilmington Star News
Bill Speros, Orlando Sentinel emeritus
Jason Stallman, New York Times
Jon Styf, Beaumont Enterprise
Joe Sullivan Boston Globe
Michael Szvetitz, Opelika-Auburn News
Nick Talbot, Killeen Herald
Scott Thurston, Boston Globe
John Turner, Huntsville Times
Drew Van Esselstyn, Newark Star Ledger
Chris White, Athens Banner Herald
Eric White, Chicago Sun Times
Hank Winnicki, Newsday
Scott Zucker, USA TODAY
* Are your APSE dues paid?
* Are all of your entries in the correct circulation category?
* Did you address entries to the correct catcher? Are your entries
postmarked Jan. 24 or earlier?
Section Divisions
* Have you attached cards with required information?
* Have you included four different Sunday sections and four different
daily sections?
* Have you included the two mandatory Sunday dates and the two
mandatory daily dates? Have you entered just one special section?
Writing Divisions
* Are your entries pasted on 8-1/2 x 11 paper?
* Do your cover letters follow the APSE format?
* Have you included a separate sheet on letterhead with names and
numbered entries for each category?
* Have you removed all references to your organization in text and
* Have you removed all headlines, cutlines, credit lines and bylines?
* Is your entry classified by unique-user category (not circulation)?
* Are you sure it can be opened by the judges?
* Have you carefully read the rules?
Questions, concerns, comments? Contact first vice president and contest chair Ahern.