Nominations are now being accepted for the 2022 Red Smith Award. The award, which is given annually by APSE to a writer or editor who has made major contributions to sports journalism, is regarded as the highest sports journalism honor in the country. Red Smith was the first winner in 1981.  

Sally Jenkins was last year’s winner, and the next five finishers in last year’s voting automatically are nominated for this year’s award – Leon Carter, Tom Boswell, Bill Plaschke, Bill Lyon and Mark Whicker.

To those who nominated these five, please refresh their biographical and other information if you wish by contacting Red Smith Award chair Rachel Crader at New nominations should be submitted via this form by March 12.

The nomination and voting process is open to Red Smith Award winners, APSE past presidents, APSE national officers, 10-year APSE members and alumni members who belonged to APSE for at least 15 years. We are looking at these voting and nominating qualifications given the severe changes in sports journalism in recent years, and the challenge of tracking memberships from year to year.

Our current list of voters has incomplete information. If you believe you are eligible to vote please contact Rachel with your name and preferred email address to assure your name and correct address is on the list to receive a ballot. If you know of anyone else, or suspect anyone else, is in the same situation, please alert Rachel with that person’s credentials and updated email address.

Ballots will be emailed to eligible voters March 16. Biographical information will be included in that ballot for both the automatic nominees and new nominees. The deadline to vote will be March 31.

The timeline:

March 12 — Nominations due  

March 16  — Ballots go out  

March 31 — Voting deadline  

April 7 – Winner announced