By Robert Gagliardi 

APSE Third Vice President

Amanda Berg and Dustin Hockensmith of The Patriot News/ won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2016 contest in Short Video for the 30,000 to 75,000 circulation category.

The duo won for their video on a high school wrestling controversy. They will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2017 APSE banquet. The banquet and awards dinner concludes the APSE Summer Conference June 26-29 at The Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans.  (Click here to register for the conference.)

Second place went to Chris Pietsch of The Register-Guard in Eugene, Ore., and Justin Sellers of The Clarion-Ledger in Jackson Mississippi, placed third. Sports editors in the 30,000-75,000 circulation category submitted 12 Short Video entries. The Short Video category is for videos up to two minutes, with entries judged, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality are also considered.

The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top three, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 3 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given three points for a first-place vote, two points for second and one for third place. The final three were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-3 in the same fashion. The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The top three are listed below with links to writers’ Twitter pages, APSE member websites and winning entries.

1. Amanda Berg and Dustin Hackensmith, The Patriot News/, 13 points (3 first-place votes)

   High school wrestling fiasco


2. Chris Pietsch, The Register-Guard, 12 points (1 first-place vote)

    Anthem Auditions

 3. Justin Sellers, The Clarion-Ledger, 11 points (2 first-place votes)

     Female Prep Athlete of the Year