Davis Potter of the Casper Star-Tribune won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest for breaking news story in the D Division.

Potter will be presented with his first-place plaque at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference Banquet on June 27 at The Alexander hotel in Indianapolis.

Steve Wiseman of The Herald-Sun, of Durham, N.C., finished second.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries. Sports editors in the D Division entered 37 stories in the category. Click here to join and enter the contest for 2020.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in St. Petersburg, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

Breaking news stories relate sports news development (trades, hirings, firings, franchise shifts, etc.) that occurred in the most recent news cycle. Judges weigh timeliness, thoroughness, exclusivity and significance, which were explained in an accompanying cover letter. 

A list of the Top 10:

1. Davis Potter, Casper Star-Tribune, 56 points (4 first-place votes)
2. Steve Wiseman, The Herald-Sun (Durham, N.C.), 49 points
3. Bennett Durando, Columbia Missourian, 44 points (2 first-place votes)
4. Don Williams, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, 40 points
5. Scott Chancey, The Florence Morning News, 37 points
6. Matt Tait, Lawrence Journal-World, 32 points
7. Gabe DeArmond and Mitchell Forde, PowerMizzou.com, 27 points
8. John Harvey, The Daily Progress (Charlottesville, Va.), 22 points
9. Ryan Black, The Manhattan Mercury, 16 points
10. Marc Weiszer, Athens Banner-Herald, 10 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here