Josh Galemore of the Casper Star-Tribune won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2018 contest in Action Photo in the C Division.

Galemore will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2019 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Omni CNN Center on June 19.

He edged runner-up Darin Oswald from the Idaho Statesman. Matt Apgar from the Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, Ill.) finished third.

Sports editors in the C Division submitted 18 action photo entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Todd M. Adams and fellow APSE officers John Bednarowski, Lisa Wilson and Dan Spears prepared entries, which included online links to stories for the first time this year.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Orlando, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 5, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 5 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 5 points for a first-place vote, four points for second and so on down to one point for a fifth-place vote. The final five were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-5 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through fifth-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

Action photo entries were the best single action photo from a sporting event by the photographer, with judging based on the quality of the photo.

The top five is listed below with links to the winning entries..

1. Josh Galemore, Casper Star-Tribune 16 points, two first-place votes

2. Darin Oswald, Idaho Statesman (Boise, Idaho) 14 points, two first-place votes

3. Matt Apgar, Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, Ill.) 12 points

4. Angela Major, The Janesville Gazette 10 points

5. Philip Hall, Savannah Morning News 8 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here