Scott Utterback of the Cincinnati Enquirer won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category B Feature Photo.

Utterback will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Amy Newman of The Record finished second and Bryan Terry of The Oklahoman was third.

A Feature Photo entry is judged on the quality of the photo. Representatives from the Associated Press photo department serve as judges.

Sports editors in Category B submitted 38 photos. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below:

1. Scott Utterback, The Cincinnati Enquirer

2. Amy Newman, The Record (Bergen, N.J.)

3. Bryan Terry, The Oklahoman

4. Harry Scull Jr., The Buffalo News 

5. James Wallace, Richmond Times-Dispatch

6. Jenna Watson, The Indianapolis Star

7. Rebecca Benson, The Blade (Toledo)

8. Michael Johnson, The Villages Daily Sun

9. Matt Stone, Courier Journal

10. Ricardo Ramirez Buxeda, Orlando Sentinel


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here