Annie Rice of the Corpus Christi Caller Times won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest for action photo in the C Division.

Rice will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 27.

Annie Rice’s winning photo

Sports editors submitted 35 action photo entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries. 

In February, Associated Press photographers selected a top 10 and ranked them 1-10. The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive certificates.

Judging in the action photo category was based on quality of photo.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries.

Annie Rice, Corpus Christi Caller Times
Darin Oswald, Idaho Statesman (Boise)
Katherine Jones, Idaho Statesman (Boise)
Brian Miller, Tallahassee Democrat
Andrew Dye, Winston-Salem Journal
Pete Cihelka, The Free Lance-Star (Fredericksburg, Va.)
Dennis Nett, Post-Standard
Adam Sparks, Auburn Undercover
Woody Marshall, News & Record (Greensboro, N.C.)
Gary Cosby Jr., The Tuscaloosa News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here