Mike Morones of the Free Lance-Star (Fredericksburg, Va.) won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2019 contest for feature photo in the C Division.

Annie Rice of the Corpus Christi Call Timers added a second-place finish in feature photo to her first-place finish the action photo category.

Sports editors in the C Division submitted 34 feature photo entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Lisa Wilson and fellow APSE officers Todd M. Adams, Gary Potosky and Dan Spears prepared the entries. 

Mike Morones’ winning feature photo.

In February, Associated Press photographers selected a top 10. Morones will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2020 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 27. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive certificates.

Judging in the feature photo category was based on quality of photo.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries.

  1. Mike Morones, The Free Lance-Star (Fredericksburg, Va.)
    2. Annie Rice, Corpus Christi Caller Times
    3. Gary Cosby Jr., The Tuscaloosa News
    4. Andrew Dye, Winston-Salem Journal
    5. Robert Franklin, South Bend Tribune
    6. Darin Osw, Idaho Statesman (Boise)
    7. Taya Gray, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs Calif.)
    8. Woody Marshall, News & Record (Greensboro, N.C.)
    9. Dave Scherbenco, The Citizens’ Voice (Wilkes-Barre, Pa.)
    10. Scott Schild, Syracuse.com/The Post-Standard


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here