Joe Guillen, Gina Kaufman, Tim Evans, Marisa Kwiatkowski, Matt Mencarini and Mark Alesia of the Detroit Free Press and IndyStar won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors’ 2018 contest in Explanatory Story for the A Division.

Guillen, Kaufman, Evans, Kwiatkowski, Mencarini and Alesia will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2019 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Omni CNN Center in Atlanta on June 19.

The group edged runner-up Dan Wiederer from the Chicago Tribune and Will Hobson from the Washington Post who tied for second.

Sports editors in the A Division submitted 76 explanatory story entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Todd M. Adams and fellow APSE officers John Bednarowski, Lisa Wilson and Dan Spears prepared entries, which included online links to stories for the first time this year.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Orlando, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

The explanatory story judges looked for stories that included trends, issues, original ideas. They explained something. They shed new light on issues and personalities in the news. They were more than the feature and less than the project entry. They went beyond the “yesterday” of the breaking news story.

 The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries..
1. Joe Guillen, Gina Kaufman, Tim Evans, Marisa Kwiatkowski, Matt Mencarini and Mark Alesia, Detroit Free Press (with IndyStar), 51 points, 3 first-place votes
T2. Dan Wiederer, The Chicago Tribune, 46 points, 2 first-place votes
T2. Will Hobson, The Washington Post, 46 points
4. Michael Powell, The New York Times, 41 points, 1 first-place vote
5. Bruce Feldman, The Athletic, 39 points
6. Dan Barry, Serge F. Kovaleski and Juliet Macur, The New York Times, 32 points
7. Rainer Sabin,, 24 points
8. Dave Birkett, Detroit Free Press, 20 points
9. Kevin Seifert and Mike Sando,, 19 points
10. Michael Casagrande,, 12 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here