Brad Elliott Schlossman of the Grand Forks Herald won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2018 contest in Explanatory Story for the D Division.

His story, about a hockey official who had to pay his own medical bills after being hit in the face by a puck in a game, beat out Eli Lederman of the Columbia Missourian for the top sot.

Sports editors in the D Division submitted 29 explanatory entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Todd M. Adams and fellow APSE officers John Bednarowski, Lisa Wilson and Dan Spears prepared entries, which included online links to stories for the first time this year.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Orlando, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

Schlossman will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2019 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Omni CNN Center on June 19. The second- through 10th-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

The judges looked for stories that included trends, issues, original ideas. They explained something. They shed new light on issues and personalities in the news. They were more than the feature and less than the project entry. They went beyond the “yesterday” of the breaking news story.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries..
1. Brad Elliott Schlossman, Grand Forks Herald, 51 points (2 first-place votes)

2. Eli Lederman, Columbia Missourian, 48 points (2)

3 (tie). Marc Weiszer, Athens Banner-Herald, 39 points (1)

3 (tie). Jon Blau, The Herald-Times, 39 points (1)

5. Hannah Hoffmeister, Columbia Missourian, 36 points

6. Tommy Deas, The Tuscaloosa News, 32 points

7 (tie). Jane Allison Havsy, Daily Record, Rockaway, N.J., 26 points
7 (tie). Ryan Black, The Manhattan Mercury, 26 points

9. Luis Torres, Murfreesboro Daily News Journal, 19 points

10. Erik Bacharach, Murfreesboro Daily News Journal, 14 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here