Godofredo Vasquez of the Houston Chronicle won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category A Action Photo.

Vasquez will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Karen Warren of the Houston Chronicle finished second and Jim McIsaac of Newsday was third.

An Action Photo entry is judged on the quality of the photo. Representatives from the Associated Press photo department served as judges.

Sports editors in Category A submitted 39 stories. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below:

1. Godofredo Vasquez, Houston Chronicle

2. Karen Warren, Houston Chronicle

3. Jim McIsaac, Newsday

4. Robert Gauthier, Los Angeles Times

5. Rob Schumacher, The Arizona Republic

6. Andrew Mills, NJ Advance Media

7. Jerry Holt, Star Tribune

8. Peter Casey, USA Today

9. Matthew J. Lee, The Boston Globe

10. Ryan Michalesko, The Dallas Morning News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here