Kelsey Grey of the Idaho Statesman won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2018 contest in Video for the C Division.

Grey finished ahead of the staff entry from The Champaign News-Gazette. Anthony Zillis of The Champaign News-Gazette finished third.

Sports editors in the C Division submitted 15 video entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Todd M. Adams and fellow APSE officers John Bednarowski, Lisa Wilson and Dan Spears prepared entries, which included online links to stories for the first time this year.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Orlando, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top eight, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 8 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given eight points for a first-place vote, seven points for second and so on down to one point for an eighth-place vote. The final eight were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-8 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

Grey will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2019 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Omni CNN Center in Atlanta on June 19. The second- through eighth-place winners will receive frameable certificates.

The judges looked for videos with the strongest storytelling, with visual and auditory quality being considered. A cover letter to explain if the video stood alone or supplemented a written story was allowed.

The top eight is listed below with links to the winning entries..
1. Kelsey Grey, Idaho Statesman  (Boise, Idaho) 46 points, four first-place votes

2. Staff, The Champaign News-Gazette 38 points, one first-place vote

3. Anthony Zillis, The Champaign News-Gazette 30 points, one first-place vote

4. Kelsey Grey and Rachel Roberts, Idaho Statesman  (Boise, Idaho) 29 points

5. Brandon Marcello, Auburn Undercover 25 points

T-6. Mike Foster, Wilmington (N.C.) StarNews 17 points

T-6. Richard Lui, Vickie Connor, Shad Powers and Andrew John, The Desert Sun  (Palm Springs, Calif.) 17 points

8. Bret McCormick, The Herald  (Rock Hill, S.C.) 14 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here