Jackson Fuller of the Wilmington StarNews won first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division C Breaking News category for his May article on the death of a South Carolina high school football player in a boating accident.

Fuller will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.         

Larry Bohannan and James Cutchin of The Desert Sun finished second, and Jim Henry of the Tallahassee Democrat took third.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division C submitted 40 Breaking News entries. 

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members.

Click here to join.

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 on a separate ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

1. Jackson Fuller, Wilmington (N.C.) StarNews, 51 points (1 first-place vote)

2. Larry Bohannan and James Cutchin,The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.), 42 points (1 first-place vote)

3. Jim Henry, Tallahassee Democrat, 40 points (2 first-place votes) 

T-4. Andrew John, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.), 33 points (1 first-place vote)

T-4. Adam Fisher, Naples Daily News, 33 points

6. Andy Kostka, Clarion Ledger (Jackson, Miss.), 32 points (1 first-place vote)

7. Eric J. Wallace, Pensacola News Journal, 30 points

T-8. Tim Benz, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, 26 points

T-8 Dustin Levy, The News-Press (Fort Myers, Fla.), 26 points

10. Ron Counts, Idaho Statesman (Boise), 17 points