Here are the judging groups for this year’s APSE Contest.
Included is an email contact for each judge.
Only the first category that each group will be judging is listed. As that category is completed and turned in, the chairs for the respective groups will be given their next category.
Note that some groups have a designated site in which to judge and some do not. The ones that do are judging sections. The ones that do not have sections to judge should meet up wherever it’s convenient, at the discretion of the chair.
Thanks to all who are here in Orlando to judge the 2016 contest, and good luck to all.
Jeff Rosen,
Contest chair
Chair: Dave Ammenheuser, Tennessean:
Site: TBD
Chris Boghossian, Chicago Tribune:
Steve Wiseman, Durham Herald Sun:
Initial category: Projects Under 30,000
Chair: Erik Hall, Roanoke Times:
Site: Eric Hall’s room
Ron Fritz, Baltimore:
Eric Hall, Beaver County Times:
Initial category: Sunday Sections Over 175,000
Chair: Kevin Bull, Detroit Free Press:
Site: Shauntel Lowe’s room
Tim Stephens, SportsManias:
Shauntel Lowe, Bleacher Report:
Initial category: Daily Sections 30,000-75,000
Chair: Jim Lefko, San Antonio Express-News:
Site: Windermere room (2nd floor)
Josh Barnett, USA Today:
Initial category: Sunday Sections 30,000-75,000
Chair: Noreen Gillespie, AP:
Site: Bay Lake room (2nd floor)
Bill Bootz, The Villages Media:
Ethan Joyce, Rocky Mount (N.C.) Telegram:
Initial category: Daily Sections 75,000-175,000
Chair: Gary Potosky, Philadelphia Inquirer:
Site: Joel Reichenberger’s room
Jane Havsy, Daily Record (Parsippany, N.J.):
Joel Reichenberger, Steamboat, Colo.:
Initial category: Special Sections 75,000-175,000
Chair: Emily Horos, American (S.D.) News:
Site: Tom Keegan’s room
Jim Luttrell, New York Times:
Tom Keegan, Lawrence (KS) Journal World:
Barry Bedlan, AP:
Initial category: Sunday Sections 75,000-175,000
Chair: Jeff Maillet, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel:
Site: Ratcliffe room (2nd floor)
Roxanna Scott, USA Today:
Ted Kian, Oklahoma State University:
Initial category: Daily Sections Over 175,000
Chair: Alex Iniguez, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette:
Site: TBD
Paul Barrett, Seattle Times:
Tom Quinlan, Daily Herald (Ill.):
Initial category: Investigative
Chair: Mike Sherman, Tampa Bay Times,
Site: TBD
Hugh Kellenberger, Jackson Clarion Ledger,
Joe Schiefelbein, Baton Rouge Advocate,
Initial category: Features Over 175,000
Chair: Glen Crevier, Minneapolis Star-Tribune,
Site: Glen Crevier’s room
Jenny Dial Creech, Houston Chronicle,
Daniel Paulling, unattached,
Initial category: Sunday Sections Under 30,000
Chair: Joe Sullivan, Boston Globe:
Site: TBD
Stef Loh, Seattle Times:
Initial category: Features Under 30,000
Chair: Hank Winnicki, Newsday:
Site: Sarah Toland’s room
John Cherwa, L.A. Times:
Sarah Toland, Excelle:
Initial category: Special Sections Under 30,000
Chair: Mike Szvetitz, Richmond Times-Dispatch:
Site: Royal Palm room
Scott Thurston, Boston Globe:
Mike Bass, Former Cinci, St. Paul SE:
Initial category: Daily Sections Under 30,000
Chair: Dana Sulonen, Opelika-Auburn News:
Site: Diana Nearhos’ room
Marcus Vanderberg, Yahoo:
Diana Nearhos, Glens Falls (N.Y.) Post-Star:
Initial category: Special Sections Over 175,000
Chair: Michael Peters, Tulsa World,
Site: TBD
Glenn Yoder, Washington Post,
Justin Pelletier, Lewiston Sun Journal,
Initial category: Projects Over 175,000
Chair: Scott Monserud, Denver Post,
Site: Tony Maluso’s room
Burke Noel, Pennlive,
Tony Maluso, Dalton Daily Citizen,
Initial category: Special sections 30,000-75,000
Chair: Chris White, Louisville Courier-Journal,
Site: TBD
Mark Francescutti, Dallas Morning News,
Nicole Saavedra, Athens Banner-Herald,
Initial category: Columns Over 175,000
Chair: Phil Kaplan, Knoxville News Sentinel,
Site: TBD
Naila Jean Meyers, NY Times,
Chris Boan, Sahuarita Sun (Green Valley, AZ),
Initial category: Explanatory 30,000-75,000
Chair: Iliana Limon-Romero, Orlando Sentinel,
Site: TBD
Gerry Ahern, USA Today,
Nick Feely, The Villages Media,
Initial category: Features 75,000-175,000
Chair: John Turner, Golf Week,
Site: TBD
Jorge Rojas, Miami Herald,
Joe Baird, Salt Lake Tribune,, Initial category: Columns 75,000-175,000
Bill Speros
Initial category: AP photo contest


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here