APSE members,

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Red Smith Award. The award is presented to a person who has made “major contributions to sports journalism.”

The nomination process (and voting) is open to Red Smith Award winners, APSE past presidents, APSE national officers, 10-year APSE active members and alumni members who belonged to APSE for at least 15 years.

If you did not receive an e-mail about the Red Smith Award and you believe you are eligible to nominate and vote, please contact Red Smith Award chair Jack Berninger at jackapse@aol.com

Terry Taylor was last year’s winner, and the next five people in the voting were automatically nominated for this year’s award. They are Bill Lyon, Sandy Bailey Rosenbush, Sally Jenkins, George Vecsey and Dan Shaughnessy. To those who nominated these five, please re-freshen their biographical and other information.

Other 2018 nominees were Dick Young, Mark Whicker, Terry Pluto, Tom Callahan, Stan Hochman, Tony Kornheiser and Lauren Tate.

To be on the 2019 ballot, they will have to be re-nominated.

All nominations will close Thursday, Feb. 14.

When making a nomination, please include biographical and other information advocating for the person.

Ballots will be sent out Monday, Feb. 18. Biographical information will be included in that ballot for both the automatic nominees and new nominees. The deadline to vote is Monday, March 4.

Send you nominations to jackapse@aol.com

The timeline:

Feb. 14 — Nominations due  

Feb. 18 — Ballots go out  

March 4 — Voting deadline  

March 6 – Winner announced

Jack Berninger

Red Smith Award Committee chair

Retired APSE Executive Director


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here