Patrick Obley of the Daily Sun (Port Charlotte, Fla.) and Augusta Stone of The State (Columbia, S.C.) tied for first place in the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors contest in the Division C Short Feature category.

Obley and Stone will be presented first-place plaques at the 2022 APSE Summer Conference banquet at The Alexander Hotel in Indianapolis on June 18. Click here to register for the conference.      

Michael Lycklama of the Idaho Statesman took third.                                                                                               

Sports editors in Division C submitted 54 Short Feature entries.

Contest chair Jorge Rojas and fellow APSE officers Gary Potosky, Naila-Jean Meyers and Ed Reed prepared the entries. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

In February, judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 on a separate ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion. 

The final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with voting results and links to the winning entries.

T1. Patrick Obley, Daily Sun (Port Charlotte, Fla.), 45 points (3 first-place votes)

T1. Augusta Stone, The State (Columbia, S.C.), 45 points 

3. Michael Lycklama, Idaho Statesman (Boise), 39 points (1 first-place vote)

T4. Ethan Joyce, Winston-Salem Journal, 36 points (1 first-place vote)

T4. Michael Niziolek, The Roanoke Times, 36 points (1 first-place vote)

6. John Blanchette, The Spokesman-Review (Spokane, Wash.), 34 points

7.Theo DeRosa, The Commercial Dispatch (Columbus, Miss.), 31 points

8. Steven Johnson, The Daily Memphian, 28 points

9. Andy Kostka, Clarion Ledger (Jackson, Miss.), 24 points

10. Shad Powers, The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.), 12 points