ryan-475x317 A list of the winners of the Red Smith Award, given annually by the APSE to a person who has made “major contributions to sports journalism.”

Year Writer Publication Story
2019 Sandy Rosenbush Sports Journalism Institute Story
2018 Terry Taylor The Associated Press Story
2017 Henry Freeman USA Today Story
2016 Leigh Montville The Boston Globe/Sports Illustrated Story
2015 Bob Ryan The Boston Globe Story
2014 Wendell Smith Chicago Herald-American Story
2013 Dan Jenkins Sports Illustrated Story
2012 Frank Deford Sports Illustrated Story
2011 Bill Millsaps Richmond Times-Dispatch Story
2010 Mitch Albom Detroit Free Press Story
2009 Vince Doria ESPN Story
2008 W.C. Heinz New York Sun Story
2007 Van McKenzie Orlando Sentinel Story
2006 Joe McGuff Kansas City Star Story
2005 Mary Garber Winston-Salem Journal Story
2004 Jimmy Cannon New York City columnist Story
2003 George Solomon Washington Post Story
2002 Dick Schaap ESPN “The Sports Reporters” Story
2001 John Steadman Baltimore Sun Story
2000 Jerry Izenberg Newark Star-Ledger Story
1999 Bud Collins Boston Globe Story
1998 Sam Lacy Baltimore Afro-American
1997 Jerome Holtzman Chicago Tribune
1996 Bill Dwyre Los Angeles Times
1995 Richard Sandler Newsday
1994 Dave Anderson New York Times
1993 Tom McEwen Tampa Tribune
1992 Ed Storin Miami Herald
1991 Dave Kindred National Sports Daily
1990 Dave Smith Dallas Morning News
1989 Edwin Pope Miami Herald
1988 Furman Bisher Atlanta Journal
1987 Will Grimsley Associated Press
1986 Si Burick Dayton Daily News
1985 Blackie Sherrod Dallas Morning News
1984 Fred Russell Nashville Banner
1983 Shirley Povich Washington Post
1982 Jim Murray Los Angeles Times
1981 Red Smith New York Times

On Saturday, April 24, 2010 Associated Press Sports Editors Red Smith Hall of Fame was unveiled in the Student Media Center inside the Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis Campus Center in downtown Indianapolis. Here’s the news story on the unveiling of the Hall of Fame and here’s a link to the transcript of the keynote speech by Los Angeles Times Sports Columnist Bill Plaschke.

[thb_gap height=”30″]