Sandy Hooper and Martin Rogers of USA Today Sports won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors’ 2018 contest in video for the A Division.

Hooper and Rogers will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2019 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Omni CNN Center in Atlanta on June 19.

Hooper and Rogers edged Sean Connell, Mark Bader, Tony Stolfa and Kyle Bogar from FloSports. A Bleacher Report staff produced video placed third.

Sports editors in the A Division submitted 46 video entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Todd M. Adams and fellow APSE officers John Bednarowski, Lisa Wilson and Dan Spears prepared entries. In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Orlando, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-10 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

The video judges evaluated entries, foremost, on the strength of storytelling. Visual and auditory quality was considered. The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries:

1. Sandy Hooper and Martin Rogers, USA Today Sports, 46 points, 1 first-place vote
2. Sean Connell, Mark Bader, Tony Stolfa, Kyle Bogar, FloSports, 43 points, 3 first-place votes

3. Staff, Bleacher Report, 41 points, 1 first-place vote
4. Staff,, 38 points, 1 first-place vote
5. Jeffrey Basinger, Raychel Brightman, Robert Cassidy and Randee Daddona, Newsday, 34 points
6. Brendan Sullivan, Omaha World-Herald, 30 points
T7. Laura Goldman,, 26 points
T7. Brian Kaufman and Mary Schroeder, Detroit Free Press, 26 points
T7. Eric Seals, Detroit Free Press, 26 points
10. Alan Springer, Yahoo Sports, 20 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here