Scott Fowler of the Charlotte Observer won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors’ 2018 contest in projects for the B Division.

Fowler edged Jonathan Bullington, Richard A. Webster, Brett Duke, Emma Scott and Haley Correll of Times-Picayune. Laura Ungar, Drew Hill and Gentry Estes of the Courier Journal (Louisville, Ky.) finished third.

Sports editors in the B Division submitted 25 project entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Todd M. Adams and fellow APSE officers John Bednarowski, Lisa Wilson and Dan Spears prepared entries. In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Orlando, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top eight, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 8 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given eight points for a first-place vote, seven points for second and so on down to one point for an eighth-place vote. The final eight were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-8 in the same fashion.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

Fowler will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2019 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Omni CNN Center in Atlanta on June 19. The second- through 10th-place writers will receive frameable certificates.

A project sheds new light on personalities and issues in the news, including trends and original ideas. It is pre-planned content that is conceived and executed as a larger body of work.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries:

  1. Scott Fowler, Charlotte Observer 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, 46 points, four first-place votes
  2. Jonathan Bullington, Richard A. Webster, Brett Duke, Emma Scott and Haley Correll, Times-Picayune 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10, 44 points, two first-place votes
  3. Laura Ungar, Drew Hill and Gentry Estes, Courier Journal (Louisville, Ky.) 1 2 3 4, 34 points
  4. John Luciew, Christine Vendel, Bob Flounders, Greg Pickel and Eric Epler, PennLive/Patriot-News (Harrisburg, Pa.) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, 25 points
  5. Bob Gillespie, Andrew Ramspacher and Gavin McIntyre, The State (Columbia, S.C.) 1 2 3 45 6 7, 23 points
  6. Jason Galloway, Wisconsin State Journal (Madison) 1 2 3 4, 17 points
  7. Staff, Winston-Salem Journal 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9, 15 points
  8. Jenni Carlson, Adam Kemp and Jacob Unruh, The Oklahoman (Oklahoma City) 1 2 3 4 5 67 8 9, 12 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here