Danielle Allentuck of The Daily Advertiser won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2020 contest in Category D Short Feature.

Allentuck will be presented a first-place plaque at the 2021 APSE Summer Conference Banquet at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas on Aug. 18.

Jake Adams of The Sentinel finished second and Pete Tobey and Wil Springstead of The Post-Star were third.

A Short Feature entry is a feature story that rewards the many shorter stories that are outstanding but don’t command the length that more deeply reported pieces demand. A Short Feature entry in Category D cannot exceed 1,000 words.

Sports editors in Category D submitted 42 stories. The contest is open to APSE members. 

Click here to join.

Contest chair and First Vice President Gary Potosky and fellow APSE officers — President Lisa Wilson, Second Vice President Jorge Rojas and Third Vice President Steve Hemphill prepared the entries.

Because this year’s in-person APSE Winter Conference was canceled due to the pandemic, all judging was remote during three weeks in February. Each category had a set of judges examine all entries, choose a Top 10 as a group (in some cases, the ranking includes fewer or more than 10 entries), and each of those judges ranked the finalists individually. A second set of judges in each category then also ranked those finalists.

The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the summer conference. The second- through 10th-place finishers will receive frameable certificates.

The top 10 is listed below with links to the winning entries, and voting results.

1. Danielle Allentuck, The Daily Advertiser, 51 points, 1 first-place vote

2. Jake Adams, The Sentinel, 46 points, 2 first-place vote

3. Pete Tobey and Will Springstead, The Post-Star, 42 points, 1 first-place vote

4. Matt Schuckman, Quincy Herald-Whig, 38 points

5. Marc Weiszer, Athens Banner-Herald, 31 points, 1 first-place vote

T6. Cara Cooper, Martinsville Bulletin, 30 points

T6. Josh Vitale, Montgomery Advertiser, 30 points, 1 first-place vote

8. George Robinson, The Leaf-Chronicle, 25 points

9. Madeline Coleman, The Herald-Sun, 19 points

10. Robby General, Star Press, 18 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here