By Erik Hall

Judges recently determined a top 10 for the 2021 Associated Press Sports Editors Student Contest. 

Students submitted three pieces of work as a portfolio. The winner will be announced in the coming weeks. 

Here are the top 10 (in alphabetical order): 

Lia Assimakopoulos, Northwestern | 1 2 3

Aidan Bea, Texas State | 1 2 3

Lila Bromberg, Maryland | 1 2 3

Matt Cohen, Indiana | 1 2 3

Adam Cole, Missouri  | 1 2 3

Bennett Durando, Missouri  | 1 2 3

Aria Gerson, Michigan  | 1 2 3

Eli Hoff, Missouri  | 1 2 3

Christina Long, Missouri  | 1 2 3

Peter Warren, Northwestern  | 1 2 3

Bromberg, Durando and Long also received top-10 honors in 2020. Durando and Long earned 2019 top-10 honors as well. 

The judges for the 2021 APSE Student contest were Jenni Carlson (The Oklahoman), Mikkel Christensen (Georgia College journalism professor), Nick Feely (The Villages Daily Sun), Amy Friedenberger (The Roanoke [Virginia] Times), Joe Gisondi (Eastern Illinois University journalism professor), Brooks Holton (WDRB-TV), Rachel Lenzi (The Buffalo News), Blake Morgan (former journalist), Alex Orozco (former journalist), Mark Selig (The Washington Post), Dillon Thompson (Yahoo), and Lana Wynn (former journalist). 

Entries came from undergraduate or graduate students enrolled at a college or university during summer 2020, fall 2020 or spring 2021 academic terms. Work came from the period of April 10, 2020, through April 10, 2021.

Erik Hall is a lead digital producer for sports with the USA Today Network. You can find him on Twitter @HallErik or at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here