By Tommy Deas

APSE President

Zach Ewing of the Bakersfield Californian won first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2016 contest in the Game Story category for the Under 30,000 circulation division.

The winner in each category will receive a plaque at the 2017 APSE Summer Conference at the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans June 26-29. (Click here to register for the conference.) The banquet and awards dinner will conclude the APSE Summer Conference, which takes place June 26-29 at The Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans.

Ewing edged out Drew Bonifant of the Kennebec (Maine) Journal and Daniel Jones of the Columbia (Mo.) Tribune, who tied for second.

Sports editors in the Under 30,000 category submitted 101 Game Story entries. The contest is open to APSE members. Click here to join.

Contest chair Jeff Rosen and fellow APSE officers Tommy Deas, John Bednarowski and Robert Gagliardi numbered each entry, assuring they had been stripped of headlines, graphics, bylines and any other element that would identify the writer or news organization.

In February, preliminary judges at the APSE Winter Conference in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., and off-site around the country, selected a top 10, with each judge ranking the entries in order from 1 to 10 separately on a secret ballot. Entries were given 10 points for a first-­place vote, nine points for second and so on down to one point for a 10th­-place vote. The final 10 were given to a second judging group, which ranked the entries 1-­10 in the same fashion. The winner and final rankings are determined by tallying the ballots.

The Game Story category is judged on reader interest, and quality of writing and thoroughness of reporting.

The top 10 is listed below, with links to writers’ Twitter pages, APSE member websites and winning entries.

  1. Zach Ewing, Bakersfield Californian, 45 points (1 first-place vote)

Drillers capture 37th section football title

  1. (tie) Drew Bonifant, Kennebeck (Maine) Journal, 44 points (1 first-place vote)

Winthrop/Monmouth falls to Lisbon in final second

  1. (tie) Daniel Jones, Columbia (Mo.) Tribune, 44 points (1 first-place vote)

Battle wins it for Dinter

  1. Julie Jag, Santa Cruz Sentinel, 42 points (3 first-place votes)

Brazilian’s shot brings golf back to the Olympics after 112 years

  1. Jon Blau, The Herald-Times (Bloomington, Ind.), 38 points

IU’s season ends with valiant 87-70 loss to Notre Dame

  1. Josh Vitale, Opelika-Auburn News, 33 points

ON SECOND THOUGHT…: Auburn survives late scare from No. 18 LSU

  1. Andrew Matheson, Santa Cruz Sentinel, 31 points

Late shot lifts Santa Cruz over St. Francis, stirs controversy

  1. Geoff Morrow, The Sentinel (Carlisle, Pa.), 21 points

West Perry celebrates the end of its 26-game losing streak with record-setting performance

  1. Alex Byington, Times Daily (Florence, Ala.), 17 points

On to Atlanta: Dominant 2nd half propels Alabama past Auburn

  1. Lee Horton, Sun Journal (Lewiston, Maine), 15 points

Overtime goal ends EL’s season



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here